Skip to content

More bullying teachers, recorded

April 26, 2012

Found via jen mandarino, on G+.

It’s a shame that kids need to wire themselves or be sent into classrooms wired for audio and/or video, but I am very glad that people keep doing it when there is a need. This crap so often gets totally ignored and brushed over, and it is far from unusual.

In this particular case, we have more special ed teaching staff who behave in dehumanizing ways they never would in an integrated classroom. Not that bullying behavior from teachers is unusual in “regular” classes–BTDT, as have no doubt a number of readers–but the difference in what they thought they could get away with is really striking here. Nobody should have to listen to that kind of emotional abuse, much less kids who seem like safe targets who might not even be able to talk about it.

Unfortunately, my own auditory processing is crappy enough that I can’t do a full transcript, but the worst bits of the classroom recordings are captioned. (I couldn’t make out a lot of the rest of that.) ETA: Someone has already done a transcript, as codeman38 kindly pointed out in comments. /ETA

By the standards of some who have not been treated like this, it may seem mildish. But, imagine getting treated with these levels of contempt, day in and day out–and then getting scapegoated as some kind of violent monster when you can’t just take it lying down.

(14:47) That clip, what she did to him, set him off on a half-hour meltdown. This was the second incident of violence that I directly relate back to a staff member humiliating him. For 30 minutes he threw over chairs, because he was in pain. Because this woman had just stabbed him, with words.

And how easy it was for her to make fun of him. She seemed to do it in a way that she knew that no-one would have a problem with; in fact, they laughed, they encouraged it. Is that not the definition of being a bully? When you take someone with disabilities and you make fun of them, and you hurt them? Is that not what we all despise?

My son didn’t go to school. He went to prison, and he learned to fight to survive. And that woman who made fun of him so easily is still working.

Go go Dad. He also mentions dignity, and wants an apology to his son for trampling all over it. (Also a shame this is refreshing, yeah.) I just wish more people did despise this kind of behavior, enough to stop ignoring and condoning it.

Teacher/Bully: How My Son Was Humiliated and Tormented by his Teacher and Aide – YouTube.

For more audio and information, please visit http://www.hnva.net/teacherbully
Contact info: Akian5@comcast.net

Sign the petition here: http://www.change.org/petitions/to-the-new-jersey-legislature-and-congress-pa…

News Coverage
http://www.myfoxphilly.com/dpp/news/local_news/nj-father-records-teachers-bul…

http://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/video/#!/news/local/Father-Says-His-Autistic-S…

My name is Stuart Chaifetz, and my son, Akian, is a ten-year old boy who has Autism. Akian has always been a sweet and non-violent child, and that is why it was so distressing when notes started coming home from his school, Horace Mann Elementary in Cherry Hill, New Jersey, saying that he was having violent outbursts, including him hitting his teacher and aide.

I could not understand why this was happening. I had never witnessed Akian hit anyone, nor could I dream of him lashing out as had been described to me. In October, I had a meeting with the IEP team (the teacher, school social worker, occupational therapist and speech teacher) to try to figure out what was going on. From that meeting, a behaviorist was called in who wrote a report. I sat down with the behaviorist on February 8, 2012 to review the findings.

It was pointless; even though the behaviorist was in the classroom a number of times, not only had he never witnessed any violent event, but when he tried to create a scenario that would cause one to happen, he failed.

Something was terribly wrong. I felt I was beginning to lose my son — that these outbursts were changing his very nature. The teacher and school social worker tried to downplay it, to the point of almost mocking me for my concern. But I knew my son. I knew this wasn’t him. And I knew I had to find out what was happening in his class that was having such a dramatic impact on him.

On the morning of Friday, February 17, 2012, I wired my son and sent him to school. That night, when I listened to the audio my life forever changed, for I heard my son being bullied by his teacher and aide.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2012 5:11 pm

    ‘minionier’ on Tumblr has posted a transcript of the video (albeit with a lot of ‘indistinct’ parts for the recordings, because apparently those aren’t even decipherable for people with good auditory processing):

    http://minionier.tumblr.com/post/21812492272/requested-transcription-tw-institutional-abuse-child

    • urocyon permalink*
      April 26, 2012 6:15 pm

      Thanks! I will add a link.

  2. April 27, 2012 2:20 am

    Thanks to codeman (and urocyon) for linking to the transcript–as a deaf person I appreciated being able to read this.

Leave a Reply

